Press Room

Webinar - Go with the flow on formulation development

Start
Tuesday, January 21, 2020 - 15:00
End
Tuesday, January 21, 2020 - 15:00
Location: online

Tuesday, January 21, 2020
3:00 pm GMT | 10:00 am EST (NA) | 7:00 am PST (NA)

Registrations to the webinar are subject to approval

Speakers
Maria Paisana, PhD - Analytical Chemist
Filipe Vultos, PhD - Analytical Chemist

Direct compression is the simplest process for pharmaceutical tablets manufacturing. For their production, active ingredient/s are primarily blended with an appropriate number of excipients and the resulting powder blend has to flow through hoppers and filled into dies to be compressed. The uniform feed from hoppers into dies is highly sensitive to blends’ flow, which is an important attribute to achieve reproducible tablets with acceptable content uniformity, weight variation, and hardness. Thus, the knowledge about the blends flowability in early stages of pre-formulation enables the formulator to determine potential problems which may cause deprived tablets with variable weight and hardness, and reduced tablet efficiency due to poor distribution of excipients in the tablet structure. Methods to characterize the flowability of blends are numerous and include conventional compendial methods, or other more innovative methods of characterization of powders using powder rheometers. The work to be presented comprises a systematic evaluation of powders blends using different methodologies, such as compendial and powder rheometer tests with the goal of correlating blend’s flowability with the final dosage forms physical attributes. Register Now!

register-now

Key Learning Objectives:

  • To improve knowledge on powder’s flow
  • To correlate compendial tests with powder rheometer tests
  • To understand which analytical tests best fit with final dosage form properties

Also in the Press Room