Press Room

Press Release / Mar 08, 2018

Compliance at Hovione - Annual Inspection Review

Hovione announced today that in the last year their manufacturing facilities were the object of eight inspections, performed by different Health Authorities.

Loures, Portugal, March 8, 2018 – Hovione announced today that in the last year their manufacturing facilities were the object of eight inspections, performed by different Health Authorities. The inspections revealed that all Hovione sites were in compliance, this reflects a solid Quality System and a vibrant Quality Culture.

This is the first press release that reports on the outcomes of inspections in the previous year. This will now be a regular commitment, it is another feature of our commitment to transparency.

Hovione inspections during 2017

Site Authority Date Type of inspection Outcome
Portugal     

Ministry
of Healthcare
of the Russian
Federation

  Jan 2017      PAI for an Intermediate Drug Product         GMP certificate granted
  Jul 2017 PAI for an Intermediate Drug Product GMP certificate granted

FDA, USA

  Mar 2017 PAI for an Intermediate Drug Product Form 483 – 6 observations
Site approved
  Nov 2017 Surveillance inspection No Form 483

INFARMED,
Portugal, EU

  Jul 2017 GMP inspection to a new building GMP certificate granted
Macau

PMDA,
Japan

  Dec 2017 GMP inspection 11 minor observations reported
Ireland

Ministry
of Healthcare
of the Russian
Federation

  Jul 2017 PAI for an Intermediate Drug Product GMP certificate granted

FDA,
USA

  Dec 2017 Surveillance inspection No Form 483

“Each inspection at Hovione is considered to be of highest importance for the organization and for our customers. We are considering every audit and every inspection as a learning opportunity to continuously improve our Quality Systems and Operative Mechanisms. The number of inspections and their outcome demonstrate our commitment and capacity in the development of new drugs, and ability to manufacture highest quality products for our customers as well as for millions of patients that we proudly serve together. We are especially happy to share that all of the GMP surveillance inspections were concluded successfully with no form 483 observation.” said Joerg Gampfer, Vice President of Quality at Hovione.

“We have a culture of quality that puts patient safety first. These inspections are important steps for Hovione and our customers. They shape our behaviors and motivate us to always improve our services to customers. Hovione has all the ingredients for an outstanding partnership going from clinical programs all the way to commercial supply.” added Frédéric Kahn, Vice President Marketing and Sales.

 

About Hovione
Hovione has over 57 years of experience as a CDMO and is currently a fully integrated supplier offering from drug substance to drug product intermediate to drug product. With four FDA inspected sites in the USChinaIreland, and Portugal, and development laboratories in Lisbon and New Jersey, the company provides branded pharmaceutical customers services for the development and compliant manufacture of innovative drugs and is able to support highly potent compounds. For generic pharmaceutical customers the company offers niche off-patent API products. In the inhalation area Hovione is the only independent company offering a complete range of services. 

Also in the Press Room

Press Release / Mar 07, 2018

Hovione sells the iMAX business

Hovione announces that it has concluded the sale of all of the share capital of iMAX Diagnostic Imaging limited.